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Before beginning, make sure you have the following items:
¢ (10) ‘Explorer’ cards

* (16) ‘Scout’ cards

e (4) ‘Viper’ cards

¢ (12) 1/5 Authority cards

* (6) 10/20 Authority cards

* (80) Trade Deck cards

¢ This Rules Sheet

Overview

In Star Realms each player starts with a small personal deck of
cards representing their space armada. Each turn, players play
cards to gain Trade, Combat and other effects.

Trade is used to buy more powerful cards to add to your deck.
Combat is used to attack your opponent or their Bases directly.

Each player starts with a score of 50 Authority. If you reduce
your opponent’s Authority to zero, you win!

Setup

Each player starts with a personal deck (containing 8 Scout
cards and 2 Viper cards) and a score of 50 Authority
(represented by 5 1/5 cards, 1 side up, 1 1/5 card 5 side up, 1
10/20 cards 20 side up, and 2 10/20 cards 10 side up. Leave
space next to each personal deck for a discard pile.

Note: If players prefer they may track their Authority with
pencil and paper.

Place the 10 Explorer cards face up on the table. Shuffle the
Trade Deck and place it face down on the table. Lay out 5 cards
from the Trade Deck face up on the table. This is the Center
Row.

Leave a space next to this for the Scrap Heap (a place to put
cards that are removed from the game).

Both players shuffle their personal decks.

Randomly determine which player will play first. That player
draws three cards (you always draw from your own personal
deck), the other player draws five cards.
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Ships provide a one-time effect each time you play them. Ships
you put into play stay in play [face up in front of you) until your
Discard Phase.
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Play
Players alternate taking turns. Each turn has three phases. ) 2 = 3 :
These phases are played in order: What it does - (3] - Outpost Tag |

1)Main Phase
2)Discard Phase
3)Draw Phase

Main Phase
During your Main Phase you may do any of the following, in any
order you wish.

¢ Play cards from your hand.

e Use abilities of Ships or Bases in play.

e Acquire Ships or Bases with Trade and place them in your
discard pile.

e Attack your opponent or their bases with Combat.

You may repeat any of these as many times as you like. For ex-
ample, you may play two cards from your hand, acquire a card,
then play another card from your hand, etc.

Playing Cards

There is no cost to play a card, just place it “in play” (face up on
the table in front of you) and do what it says.

There are two types of cards you can have in your deck; Ships
and Bases.

Scrap Ability— [

Destroy target base and draw a card.

- Defense

Bases stay in play turn after turn until they are destroyed or
scrapped.

Each Base has a Defense that represents the amount of
Combat that it must be hit within a single turn to destroy it.

Some Bases (designated “Outpost”) protect you and your other
Bases.

If you have an Outpost in play, you may not be attacked and
your non-outpost Bases may not be attacked or targeted by
your opponent until all of your Outposts are destroyed.

Using Abilities
While in play, some Ships and most Bases have abilities that
can be used at any time during your Main Phase.

Primary Base Abilities
Most Bases have an ability in their main text box. For example,
Blob Wheel gives you 1 Combat.

Some Bases have “or” between multiple abilities. You may
choose one of these abilities to use each turn. For example
with Barter World, you may choose to gain 2 Authority or 2
Trade, but not both.



Ally Abilities
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Some ships and bases have Ally Abilities. This is in addition to
whatever else the card does.

Ally Abilities are indicated by a faction icon in the text box.

On your turn, an Ally Ability is triggered as soon as you have
another Ship or Base of that faction in play.

Once triggered, an Ally Ability may be used at any time during
your Main Phase.

Scrap Abilities

Some Ships and Bases have a Scrap Ability. This is in‘addition
to whatever else the card does.

Scrap Abilities are indicated by a trash can icon in the text box.

If you choose to use a card’s Scrap Ability, remove the card
from “in play” and place it in the Scrap Heap (the removed
from the game pile). This card is no longer in your deck, so
consider carefully if the ability is worth giving up that card for-
ever!

Scrapping a card in any other way does not give you the Scrap
Ability.

Note: when an Explorer is scrapped in any way, it is placed face
up in the Explorer Pile, not in the Scrap Heap.

Scrapping Cards
Some cards allow you to scrap other cards from your hand,
your discard pile or the Center Row.

When you scrap a card in this way, place it in the Scrap Heap.

The Center Row always has 5 cards in it, so if you scrap a card
from the Center Row, immediately replace it with the next card
from the Trade Deck.

Acquiring Cards
Some of the Ships and Bases you play will give you Trade.

When you gain Trade it goes into a “Trade Pool” which you may
add to and use over the course of your Main Phase.

Trade is used to acquire cards from the Center Row or the Ex-
plorer Pile.

A card’s cost is found in the Trade symbol in its upper right
hand corner.

To acquire a card, subtract Trade from your Trade Pool equal
to the card’s cost and then put the acquired card directly into
your discard pile. Acquiring a card doesn’t count as playing it,
so it doesn’t go into play and you don’t use its abilities.

Any remaining Trade is saved and can be used to acquire addi-
tional cards this turn.

Sometimes a card’s ability will instruct you to “Acquire a card.”

In this case you get to acquire the card without using Trade.

Remember, the Center Row always has 5 cards in it, so if you
acquire a card from the Center Row, immediately replace it
with the next card from the Trade Deck.

Attacking

Some of the Ships and Bases you play will give you Combat.
When you gain Combat it goes into a “Combat Pool” which you
may add to and use over the course of your Main Phase.

You may use Combat to attack your opponent or their Bases.
To attack a Base, subtract Combat from your Combat Pool
equal to the Base’s Defense. That Base is destroyed and goes

to your opponent’s discard pile.

Sometimes a card’s ability will instruct you to “Destroy target

Base.” In this case, you destroy the Base without using Combat.

To attack your opponent, subtract any amount of Combat from
your Combat Pool, and lower your opponent’s Authority by that
amount.

Discard Phase

In addition to a personal deck, each player has their own dis-
card pile. When you discard or acquire cards, place them face
up in your discard pile. Any player may look through your dis-
card pile at any time.

During your Discard Phase you:

¢ Lose any Trade remaining in your Trade Pool.

e Lose any Combat remaining in your Combat Pool.

e Put all of your Ships that are “in play” into your discard pile.
e Put any cards left in your hand into your discard pile.

Draw Phase
During your Draw Phase you:

e Draw 5 cards, then your turn ends.
Note: if you need to draw a card and your personal deck is

empty, shuffle your discard pile and that becomes your new
personal deck.

Example: At the beginning of your Draw Phase you have three
cards left in your deck. Draw those three cards, shuffle your
discard pile into a new deck, then draw two more cards.

Icon Reference List

Blob faction icon

Trade Federation faction icon

Star Empire faction icon
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Machine Cult faction icon

When one of these icons is found in the upper left hand corner
of a card, this indicates the card’s faction. When this icon is
found in a card’s text box, this indicates an Ally Ability.

‘i' Authority

You start the game with a score of 50 Authority. If your Author-
ity is reduced to zero or below, you lose the game.

When this icon is found in a card’s text box, this indicates an
amount of Authority you gain.

When this icon is found in a card’s text box, this indicates an
amount of Combat you gain.

‘ Trade

When this icon is found in the upper right hand corner of a
card, this indicates the card’s cost. When this icon is found a
card’s text box, this indicates an amount of Trade you gain.
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I]]] Scrap

When this icon is found in a card’s text box, this indicates a
scrap ability.

OUTPOST I

This Base is an Outpost. If you have an Outpost in play, you may
not be attacked and your non-outpost Bases may not be at-
tacked or targeted by your opponent until all of your Outposts
are destroyed.

' Defense

A Base’s Defense is the amount of Combat that it must be hit
with in a single turn to destroy it.




